Login Event Calendar Careers About NACCHO Contact Us Site Map
 
Search  

Webinars Home | Upcoming Webinars | Archived Webinars

It's Tough Being a Teen: Prevention Strategies Addressing Leading Causes of Injury & Death

November 14, 2007 at 1:30 PM EST, 12:30 PM CST, 11:30 AM MST, 10:30 AM PST

This 90 minute webcast will highlight the leading causes of injury and death among adolescents and showcase prevention efforts among state and local health departments. This webcast will include presentations from federal, state and local public health representatives. These speakers will present the data and epidemiology of adolescent injury issues, describe federal and state heath agency surveillance and prevention initiatives; and highlight activities and partnerships at the state and local levels. Participants will learn about the latest data and statistics on two leading causes of injury and death among adolescents and will be presented with innovative prevention strategies. Participants will learn about one stateís youth suicide prevention initiatives and one local health departmentís efforts to prevent motor vehicle crashes and promote traffic safety among teens in their community.


Speakers:

Arlene Greenspan, DrPH, MPH, PT
Senior Scientist
National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA

Debbie Ruggles, MBA
Violence Prevention Specialist
Washington Department of Health
Tumwater, WA

Ann Lewicki, MPH, CHES
Program Manager
Franklin County Safe Communities
Columbus Public Health
Columbus, OH

Amy Wermert, MPH
Injury Prevention Coordinator
Grant Medical Center - Trauma Program
Columbus, OH

 
Select a Session Format:
Online Archive Webcast Recording (Complimentary)