Login Event Calendar Careers About NACCHO Contact Us Site Map
 
Search  

Webinars Home | Upcoming Webinars | Archived Webinars

Autism Spectrum Disorders and the Role of Public Health

April 17, 2008 at 3:00 PM EDT, 2:00 PM CDT, 1:00 PM MDT, 12:00 PM PDT

This webcast will highlight CDC’s ”Learn the Signs. Act Early.” Campaign. An overview of autism spectrum disorders and developmental screening guidelines will be given. Examples of how the Campaign materials can be used to engage local communities will be shared.

Goal:
To increase awareness of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) and highlight opportunities for public health professionals to play a role in helping those affected to reach their full potential.   

Objectives: 
Participants will gain knowledge of ... 

1. Autism spectrum disorders and  their  impact on children and families
2. CDC's ongoing surveillance and research in the area of autism spectrum disorders
3. CDC's  "Learn the Signs. Act Early." campaign and related resources
4. The important roles public health can play in increasing dialogue about important developmental
    milestones, identifying children at risk for ASDs, and connecting children and families to 
    appropriate early intervention. 

Speaker(s):

Dr. Catherine Rice, PhD
Lead Health Scientist and Surveillance Team Lead
Developmental Disabilities Branch
National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, CDC
 
Katie P. Kilker, MPH, CHES
Health Communication Specialist
Prevention Research Branch
National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, CDC
 
Dr. Paul Carbone, MD
Assistant Professor
Division of General Pediatrics, University of Utah

 

 
Select a Session Format:
Online Archive Webinar Recording (Complimentary)