Login Event Calendar Careers About NACCHO Contact Us Site Map
 
Search  

Webinars Home | Upcoming Webinars | Archived Webinars

Testimonials on How Public Health Confronts the Mosquito

April 25, 2007 at 2:00 PM EDT, 1:00 PM CDT, 12:00 PM MDT, 11:00 AM PDT

The NACCHO Mosquito Workgroup is convening a 60-minute webinar with support from the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) to discuss mosquito control and public health just in time for the coming mosquito season.  

Roger S. Nasci, Ph.D., the Chief for the Arboviral Diseases Branch at the National Center for Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, will discuss the benefits of having a mosquito control program, provide examples of how mosquito control efforts have reduced the impact of West Nile virus (WNV), and how  the "Public Health Confronts the Mosquito" guidebook can contribute to a comprehensive mosquito control program.

Lon Kightlinger, Ph.D., the State Epidemiologist for the South Dakota Department of Health, will discuss mosquito control activities in a rural state, successes and challenges of conducting a mosquito control program, and the impact of a pronounced WNV outbreak on mosquito control today.

* Note - this webinar is open to the first 100 registrants.  A "complimentary" online archive will be available one week after the live event. 

For more information regarding the mosquito webinar, please contact Grace Ibanga at gibanga@naccho.org or (202) 783-5550, Ext. 249.