Login Event Calendar Careers About NACCHO Contact Us Site Map
 
Search  

Webinars Home | Upcoming Webinars | Archived Webinars

Prevention of Tobacco Use and Secondhand Smoke Exposure Before, During, and After Pregnancy

June 19, 2008 at 3:00 PM EDT, 2:00 PM CDT, 1:00 PM MDT, 12:00 PM PDT

Session Description:
This webcast will highlight national, state, and local initiatives that address tobacco use and exposure and the health of MCH populations.  Systems level approaches to smoking cessation among pregnant and parenting women, as well as the connection between environmental tobacco smoke and infant health will be discussed.

Goal:
The goal of this webcast is to provide a forum for information exchange and continuing education by highlighting research, information and programs at the national, state, and local levels on smoking cessation among pregnant and parenting women. This webcast will highlight the link between tobacco use and exposure and health of MCH populations.

After this activity, the participants will be able to:
• Define how tobacco smoke impacts the health of MCH populations: including pregnant and parenting
  women, and infants. 
• Describe the interventions used to address tobacco and the effects on maternal and child health 
  populations
• Describe the role of local health departments in addressing smoking cessation among pregnant and 
  parenting women.
• Identify at least two resources for local health departments to address environmental tobacco smoke 
  as it relates to infant health and resources to address smoking cessation among pregnant and
  parenting women.
 
Speakers:

Laurie Adams
Project Director, Baby & Me- Tobacco Free Program
Chautauqua County (NY) Department of Health

Anne Gadomski, MD, MPH
Attending Pediatrician and Research Scientist
Bassett Research Institute

Erin McClain, MA, MPH
Research Associate
Smoke-Free Families

Sandra Frank, JD, CAE
Executive Director
Tomorrow’s Child/Michigan SIDS